2019 AACTA Award Winners

2019 AACTA Award Winners

Wednesday saw the 2019 AACTA Awards held in Sydney. The peer-assessed awards represent the only Australian industry body to honour practitioners across all crafts and industry sectors, including feature film, documentary, short film, television, online, visual effects and animation.

The period drama film Nightingale was the big winner at the AACTA awards taking out best direction, best screenplay, best film and best lead actress for Aisling Franciosi (pictured above). ABC’s Total Control, which took out best television drama, best actress (Deborah Mailman) and best supporting actress (Rachel Griffiths). The win was Mailman’s sixth AACTA award. Sam Neill was honoured with the Longford Lyell Award, in recognition of his long and illustrious career. Neill is the first New Zealander to win the award.

Other winners:

Best entertainment program: Lego Masters Australia (Nine Network)

Best supporting actor in a television drama: Richard Roxburgh (The Hunting)

Best documentary: The Australian Dream

Best factual program: Old People’s Home for 4-year-olds (ABC)

Best factual entertainment program: You Can’t Ask That (ABC)

Best telefeature or mini series: Lambs of God

Best performance in a television comedy: Alison Bell, The Letdown (ABC)

Best online drama or comedy: Robbie Hood

Best lead actor in a television drama: Scott Ryan (Mr Inbetween)

Best comedy program: The Letdown (ABC)

Best Asian Film: Parasite

Best lifestyle program: Love It Or List It (Foxtel)

Best reality program: Australian Survivor

The Byron Kennedy Award: P.J Voeten

AccessReel is the Western Australian movie-lovers website.