2024 CinfestOZ Film Prize Finalists Announced

2024 CinfestOZ Film Prize Finalists Announced

CinefestOZ is thrilled to announce that four dramatically different Australian films have been selected to go in the running to win Australia’s richest $100,000 film prize at the 2024 CinefestOZ Film Festival.

The Film Prize FInalists for 2024 are hilarious new family comedy Runt, written by Craig Silvey, directed by John Sheedy and starring Celeste Barber, Jai Courtney and Jack Thompson; animated drama Memoir of a Snail MIFF@CinefestOZ, by Oscar winning director Adam Elliot and featuring the voices of Sarah Snook, Eric Bana and Jackie Weaver; dark comedy Audrey MIFF@CinefestOZ, by director Natalie Bailey with actors Jackie van Beek and Jeremy Lindsay Taylor;  and the thought-provoking, Indigenous horror The Moogai by director Jon Bell and starring Shari Sebbens and Meyne Wyatt.

CinefestOZ CEO Cassandra Jordan said: “I’m excited to share our four finalists for the 2024 Film Prize, which recognises excellence in filmmaking from an Australian feature film.”

“I am also delighted that these films will have their Western Australian premiere at Australia’s largest destination film festival –  CinefestOZ – where festivalgoers have the opportunity to see these films first alongside visiting film talent as well as a Jury of film industry experts, who will decide 2024 Film Prize winner, which will be announced at the spectacular Film Prize Celebration event on 7 September.”

AccessReel is the Western Australian movie-lovers website.