CinefestOZ Festival Jury Announced!

CinefestOZ Festival Jury Announced!

It’s only a week out before Australia’s biggest film festival prize of $100000 goes to one of these lucky films 1%JirgaLadies in Black and The Merger. Today CinefestOZ announced the jury for the festival. 

Jury Chair and Australian screen and stage icon, Sigrid Thornton will be joined on the jury by Animal Logic CEO and film producer Zareh Nalbandian (Peter Rabbit, The Lego Batman Movie), Logie Award-winning West Australian actress Tasma Walton, (Cleverman, Looking for Grace, Mystery Road), West Australian Producer Tania Chambers OAM (Kill Me Three Times, A Few Best Men) and one of Australia’s most loved actors and television hosts, Michael Caton (The Castle, Packed to the Rafters, Hot Property, Hot Auctions). 

CinefestOZ Chair Helen Shervington said the depth of experience and Australian filmmaking talent on this year’s film prize Jury was extraordinary. “The Jury is a wonderfully diverse and talented collective. We look forward to welcoming them to the festival and their ultimate verdict.”

The CinefestOZ Film Prize encourages excellence in Australian filmmaking by providing a $100,000 award to an Australian feature film or feature-length documentary.

This year the festival received an unprecedented number of entries for the Prize and four finalists were announced last month. 1%, Jirga, Ladies in Black and The Merger will contend for the Prize, with the winner being announced at the Festival’s Gala Night on Saturday 25 August. will be down at CinefestOZ this year so keep an eye on the website and facebook for updates! For more info head to the CinefestOZ website by clicking here

AccessReel is the Western Australian movie-lovers website.