Darran’s Mid-Year Movie Review

Darran’s Mid-Year Movie Review

We are now half way through 2011 and I thought I would take a look back at my five Best and Worst films of the year so far, over the next few days you will also see Tiffany and Phil put up there report as well so it will interesting to see how or even if we match up! It’s been a great year for film with some amazing big budget movies and some even better little independent film. Check out my Mid-Year Movie Review after the jump.

My Top 5 Films of the Year so Far

Super 8  
Studio – Paramount Pictures
Released – 9th June 2011

Most of you would have read my review so I’m not going to go into a full spill again but I just loved this film, it made me feel 12 years old again watching films like ‘The Goonies’ and ‘Stand by Me’ I just really enjoyed everything about it, so that’s why I gave it a solid 5/5. I also got to interview the young kid Joel Courtney and accessreel.com got quoted in the press and media advertising for Super 8 Australia wide.

Battle L.A
Studio – Sony Pictures
Released – March 24th 2011


Battle L.A just had everything in a film I have always enjoyed the Military, Aliens, Apocalyptic (my best mate loves these sorts of movies so I think it sort of rubbed off on me a bit) and an immense amount of Power Moments. The film did get quite slammed by most Critics/Reviewers but I enjoyed it, obviously there were moments where the dialog got cheesy but it’s a film with Aliens and Military what are you going to expect? Black Hawk Down? I think not.

THOR
Studio – Paramount Pictures
Released – April 21st 2011

With the Marvel machine working towards the Avengers I was expecting a big movie and they didn’t disappoint, I just thought the performances, battle sequences, CGI and pretty much everything was just fantastic. I also got to talk to Tom Hiddleston who played Loki, which is still one of my favorite interviews to date, fingers crossed for Thor 2.

Griff the Invisible
Studio – Transmission
Released – March 17th 2011

I like awkward and Griff is just that this office worker by day, superhero by night scenario with a cutesy love story thrown in, really what’s not to like. With a cast including Ryan Kwanten and the gorgeous Maeve Dermody this movie just made me feel good when I walked out of the cinema – doesn’t happen that often does it?

Biutiful
Studio – Madman
Released – March 24th 2011

As it says on the poster “Javier Bardem is Remarkable” and that is very true, the performance given by Bardem in this film is I would say the best of 2011 so far and coming off winning an Oscar for Best Actor in 2008 with ‘No Country for Old Men’ personally he should have won it again this year. The story itself is quite as the title says beautiful, even though it was hard to watch at times. If you’re a fan of a Foreign Film by all means see this one.

Notable Mentions

Paul – Hilariously Funny
Bridesmaids – Best Ensemble of Female Talent onscreen in years.
Water for Elephants – Great Story, Solid Cast, amazing music
Justin Bieber:  Never Say Never – Really never expected to enjoy this one, was extremely surprised.

Now onto the Worst of 2011 –

Sucker Punch
Studio – Roadshow Films
Released – 7th April 2011


I really did expect a lot more from Zack Snyder, the Watchmen was such an impressive film but when I look at Sucker Punch which was his own original story, just maybe he should let other people come up with the Source Material.

HOP
Studio – Universal Pictures
Released – 7th April

Extremely talented cast including Russell Brand, James Marsden, Gary Cole and Kaley Cuoco. The film started off incredibly strong but just failed in the last 35 or so minutes, it had potential and I love a cute bunny as much as the next person but fail.

Gnomeo and Juliet
Studio – Disney
Released – 17th February 2011

I’m a sucker for anything Shakespeare and especially the story of Romeo and Juliet, but having a bunch of Gnomes running around with Elton John doing the music just didn’t cut it for me, Shame.

Sanctum
Studio – Universal Pictures
Released – 3rd February 2011

They tried and failed with this one, using the whole ‘James Cameron Presents’ sort of angle that was extremely successful when Peter Jackson added his name for District 9 but for Sanctum I really don’t think it helped at all, Kudo’s for the  Australian cast but if they are in caverns, where did all that light come from? As the tag line said “Can they survive, or will they be trapped forever?” maybe they should have just stayed trapped.

Red Riding Hood
Studio – Warner Bros
Released – March 24th 2011

Another film that just tried too hard, I think the only thing that sort of held it together was the fact Gary Oldman was in it. The movie was just way to confusing it was like two films in one and just well pointless.

So there you have it, my top 5 best and worst films of 2011 so far, do you agree with me? or is there some that should really be in this list? well let me know.. We have some impressive films coming out the second half of the year so expect a full Best and Worst of 2011 list at the end of the year, keep an eye out for Tiffany’s and Phil’s.

Darran loves watching movies, listening to movies and generally everything movies which is mainly the reason why he started accessreel.com and roped some friends in to help him.. Favorite Films: Star Wars, Lost in Translation, Grosse Point Blank, Shawshank Redemption and any Kevin Smith or Tarantino.

Lost Password

Sign Up